Minor Running Accomplishment

Week 2 into my new running plan, and yesterday I achieved a personal accomplishment: I ran .57 miles without stopping to walk! I know this seems like a small number, but to me it’s fairly special. 🙂 Let’s do a week recap, shall we?

Saturday Rob and I briskly walked the 2.9 mile trail by his house, which you can read about here.

On Monday, Brudder and I ran/walked our now established route to the tracks and back. A couple of times when he suggested we break, I extended where we would stop at. And a couple of times I suggested a break before where he said we would stop. Overall, I thought it went really well. He let me set the pace better for us this time, and I wasn’t as winded as I have been the times out. The stats: 18:45.5,  1.4 mi, 13:33.8 min/mi. Let’s also keep in mind that even though we ran at like 8pm, it was still in the high 80s!

Yesterday I went out myself, deciding before I started that I was going to try to run all the way to the tracks (which would be approx. .7mi I think). Up to yesterday I was still sticking with my 2 block run/1 block walk plan, but I could tell that I was growing out of it. In the back of my mind I knew going all the way probably wasn’t going to happen, but I didn’t see the hurt in setting up a goal for myself. I wasn’t going to be disappointed in whatever I did, but I did kind of exceed my realistic expectations for myself and am so excited! Maybe I’m getting a little better at this, haha! The stats: 16:34.8, 1.4 mi, 12:02.3 min/mi. And if I thought running in the high 80s was bad, I went out later (approx 8:30) and it was still 90 out!

Rob suggested I go for a short walk tomorrow, just to keep it up, and then we are going to try running together Saturday morning on the trail. I’ve warned him that I’m not going to be very good, but he’s completely assured me that trying is the most important part. 🙂 ❤

Leave a comment